Carly

Created: Friday, 25 December 2020 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"This is the second time we have stayed at the cottage and it felt like coming home! We loved the subtle holiday decorations and nothing beats the view! We look forward to our next visit! Thanks Liam!"

 

Travel591739

Created: Friday, 04 September 2020 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Cuach Cottage is in a wonderfully peaceful and stunningly beautiful setting and offers comfort, warmth, and high quality of furnishings and fittings in a home which is clearly cherished by the owners and loved by anyone who stays here. I would highly recommend coming to Cuach Cottage!"

 

Jonathan's review

Created: Monday, 24 August 2020 09:51

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

" A real haven of peace and calm with outstanding views and a welcoming home. Could not recommend a stay here any more highly."

Carly's review July 2020

Created: Monday, 24 August 2020 09:40

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"STAY HERE ! The cottage is the warmest and welcoming place you will stay with so many lovely little touches. We came out to rest and relax and this is the PLACE to do it. Close enough to Clifden if you need to pop in to town, close to beaches, hiking, swimming and fishing, and perfect if you just want to stay at the property to look out over the 12 Bens. the sheep, and the stream. 

The first two days we had rain, we just read our books in the sunny studio ! Then when the rain cleared...there was a perfect view of the mountains ! And the road - if you love to run, this would be the perfect place to go for a quiet run through Connemara- sheep and all !!

We enjoyed the fire in the evening and the bright studio room during the day !

if you are looking for a good place to eat, head to Guys Pub in Clifden. Diamond Hill in Connemara National Park is a quick drive as well as the beaches in Roundstone. Liam and Marian were connected with us every step of the way and we felt really taken care of. We look forward to returning....soon ! Thanks Liam and  Marian"

Mark's review

Created: Monday, 24 August 2020 09:37

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

" A high quality cottage in a truly special setting. You wont be disappointed !"

Frances

Created: Wednesday, 05 August 2020 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"This is such a charming and cosy cottage, set in great location just outside clifden and the amazing beaches towards Ballyconeely! You will not be disappointed staying here!"

 

Mark

Created: Saturday, 25 July 2020 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"A high quality cottage in a truly special setting. You won't be disappointed!"

 

Rosemary

Created: Friday, 05 June 2020 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Beautiful sparkling clean cottage with wonderful peace and tranquility. Very well equipped and so warm and cozy."

 

Jerem'ys review

Created: Saturday, 28 December 2019 10:48

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Liam just wanted to let you know we had an early start today so house is vacant. We shut the main heat switch off and all else should be good.

Have to thank and commend you both on creating such a welcoming and lovely base for our trip. It couldnt have worked better. Many thanks and look forward to a return !"

 

Deirdre S, Bray, Ireland

Created: Sunday, 15 December 2019 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"So after a tough year of work, we decided to take a break before Christmas... OMG, what an amazing find with Cuach Cottage... it was an unforgettable experience... the most beautiful setting in Connemara with the Mountains dropping into the back of the most exquisite kitchen & an unbelievable setting, breathtaking every morning, my heart gallops when I walk into the kitchen & see the beautiful backdrop of the Connemara National park & the most beautiful river which rambles at the back of the cottage... the owners have made this cottage so incredibly special with the beautiful, exquisite touches throughout the whole cottage.. from Linens to candles, etc... this is a place where you can experience luxury, attention to detail & reinvigorate the soul... there are lots of cottages in Connemara but this is a hidden haven/gem & incredibly special... thank you Liam & Marian for allowing my family to experience such a unique sanctuary..."

 

Christoph K

Created: Monday, 21 October 2019 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We went fishing in Connemara and enjoyed our stay in the very nice and cozy cottage. Wonderfully located and stylishly furnished. We didn't miss anything."

 

Olwen D

Created: Saturday, 12 October 2019 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We arrived on a blowy wet evening after a magnificent drive through the dramatic landscape of Connemara . Completely tired in a good way . When we found our cottage, opened the gate and saw what we had hoped for. Just opening the front door to a fire that just had to be lit and seeing how lovely and warm the cottage was rejuvenated us. The bedrooms are light and cosy and lovely - beds were very comfortable . But now to the most magnificent view from back kitchen room with three wrap around windows with views of the 12 bens . The dining room and kitchen completely new and modern and a comfortable sitting area at the other end . I didn’t want to leave and it was a wonderful experience . Thank you to Liam and Marian . From Olwen and Cian"

 

Jill O

Created: Sunday, 25 August 2019 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Lovely place with picture perfect view of the stream, sheep and hills. Close to town as well. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay."

 

Heiko M

Created: Wednesday, 31 July 2019 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Die Lage des Cotteges ist traumhaft; mit weitem Blick bis zu den Bergen. Man konnte sich kaum vom Anblick losreißen. Die Einrichtung ist sehr geschmackvoll und gemütlich. Bei der Ausstattung hat an nichts gefehlt. Es ist absolut zu empfehlen. Wir kommen gerne wieder. Grüße und die netten Gastgeber Familie Müller aus Hamburg"

 

Jonathan

Created: Thursday, 25 July 2019 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"A real haven of peace and calm with outstanding views and a welcoming home. Could not recommend a stay here any more highly."

 

Stephen H

Created: Wednesday, 17 July 2019 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We really enjoyed our stay in the cottage. The location is great - a short drive to the town, and very peaceful with fantastic views from the back of the cottage. The whole place has a lovely feel - really nice decor, and we lit the fire one night which was great. Thanks!"

 

Noam m

Created: Friday, 05 July 2019 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"A beautiful cottage, wonderful view, with a private piece of river which has to be seen to be believed. Would definitely return."

 

Angela

Created: Wednesday, 15 May 2019 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Cuach Cottage was my home-away-from-home for five days in the Connemara area, close to Clifden, and I couldn't have chosen a better place! The cottage is absolutely beautiful and super comfortable with all mod cons. Set in a really peaceful spot, I loved sitting outside in the garden with my morning coffee, listening to the gentle sounds of the private river, and the nearby sheep and ponies. Exactly what I needed! Liam and Marian were the perfect hosts - always available to answer any questions, and giving me lots of tips on the best places to visit during my stay. Around here, there's a picture-postcard scene around every corner, and I'll certainly be coming back here again! You will need a car or a bike, if you're staying here; although within easy walking distance, there's no safe footpath into Clifden."

 

HRG

Created: Sunday, 06 January 2019 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We spent 5 days of our honeymoon in this beautiful cottage in the breathtaking countryside of Connemara. The cottage is tastefully decorated, warm and cozy. As food lovers, we were delighted that the kitchen was so well equipped. You would never tire of the view of the mountains and the little stream which runs outside the cottage. We explored the Connemara national park and the beautiful beaches of Roundstone and Cleggan. A visit to Inishboffin on the ferry is a must. Liam and Marian are the perfect hosts and we would love to return to this idyllic place."

 

Rosy

Created: Wednesday, 05 December 2018 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Cuach Cottage is delightful. It is beautifully set up with great style and sensitivity and the area is full of fabulous wildlife, beaches and hospitality. We would recommend this cottage to anyone as an ideal holiday destination for rest and relaxation in deep peace and beauty."

 

Barbara f

Created: Tuesday, 04 December 2018 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"This is a beautiful property in its own right! An amazing vista out the back door with a babbling brook. It is so warm and cozy there! It was immaculate and plenty of turf to build fires at night. It can easily accomodate 4-5 people. Well stocked, furnished and it was fantastic to be able to do our wash on site. Thanks so much to Liam and Marian for their great place. I will be returning here!"

 

Raman S

Created: Monday, 27 August 2018 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We stayed here for 5 nights in August and aside from the weather, it was perfect. Tranquil location about 5m from Clifden centre. Kitchen/diner is a fabulous space and I don't think the pics actually do the place justice. Service from Liam was fantastic too :)"

 

Ulrich I

Created: Saturday, 18 August 2018 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We spent a great time in this cosy, very well equipped cottage. There is so much to see in Connemara. The mountains, the sea with its beautiful beaches and all the different historic sites. Thanks a lot to Liam and Marian"

 

Juliet Powell, Dublin, Ireland

Created: Saturday, 18 August 2018 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We are just back from a 2-week stay in the absolutely lovely Cuach Cottage. I stayed with my husband and 2 young children and we truly couldn’t have asked for more. The photos didn’t do it justice, it exceeded all expectations. The attention to detail, the internal comforts- the owners have exquisite taste and have thought of everything- and the real sense of being away from everything whilst having all your home comforts to hand was to us unexpected and very much appreciated! The cottage was cozy but also filled with light. It is a mix of old and new school with both complimenting each other to perfection. More than one friend came to visit and commented that despite having seen many of the cottages/ houses that the region had to offer that this one was definitely one of, if not the best. It is very well located. Close to the stunning beaches where we spent our days with the children but also close to Clifton for all the essentials that were required. There are excellent restaurants/ pubs very nearby which should be enjoyed but the cottage is so comfy you may decide to eat in and relax in front of the roaring turf fire which is what we frequently did. The owners are an absolute delight to deal with. They assisted us with everything and no request was too big. We honestly had probably the best 2 week holiday we have ever had and have already booked for next year. I think that just about sums it up!! We really couldn’t recommend it more."

 

Ueliimhof,Canton of Zurich, Switzerland

Created: Saturday, 18 August 2018 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We spent a great time in this cosy, perfect equipped cottage. There is so much to see in Connemara. The mountains, the sea with its beautiful beaches and all the historic sites. Thanks a lot to Liam and Marian"

 

Corine v

Created: Wednesday, 01 August 2018 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Prachtig ingerichte cottage, heel compleet en comfortabel. Rustig gelegen maar toch binnen 10 minuten in het gezellige Clifden. Het uitzicht vanuit de woonkeuken en het terras is geweldig en we hebben genoten van het kabbelende riviertje. Alleen ter info...de WiFi was erg beperkt, want die schijnt alleen bedoeld te zijn om je mail te checken. Liam zou dit overigens wel aan gaan passen. Kleinigheidje dus, en verder echt een aanrader!"

 

Laura B, Brighton, United Kingdom

Created: Thursday, 26 July 2018 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Thank you Liam and Marian for sharing your beautiful cottage, we had a wonderful stay. We especially enjoyed the stunning location. Sitting in the kitchen/studio room admiring the views which changed from hour to hour. The sunrise and sunset were stunning. Walked every day from the cottage, exploring the many private walks. Our favorite being the Lough Fada walk, and yes we found the ancient Crannog! The cottage was impeccably clean, with comfy beds, fresh linens, towels, etc. no skimping here. It is also beautifully decorated with many pretty original pieces and superbly equipped, ( a cook's dream ! ). We will most definitely return, hopefully in September when Clifden's renowned Art's Festival is on. The Booking was trouble-free and seamless from beginning to end with Liam being extremely helpful with regards to our interests and suggestions/recommendations on eateries etc. A most definite 5 Stars to you both, well done Marian and Liam for a truly memorable stay in Cuach Cottage."

 

David R

Created: Monday, 23 July 2018 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Particularly loved the bright, airy kitchen leading out to the garden seating area!! What a view too! Loved all the quirky things on the walls & I thought whoever did the interior design had great taste!! It was all lovely! Another bathroom would be the only thing I would say could improve the cottage .... but does not take away from the great time we had there!!"

 

Marian's thoughts

Created: Wednesday, 20 June 2018 16:15

Mid way through Summer in Cuach Cottage
The end of June is approaching and once again we are observing new life in our surrounds.
Our resident Mallard Ducks have this year reared 7 little ducklings ( BIG FAMILY and so CUTE !! )
The Blue tit family that return each year love the nest box outside the main bedroom window.
Always a bit of competition as to who secures the pent house first,
Two brood’s this year, Mum and Dad been very busy, must be down to the exceptionally dry / warm
June we have had. ( plenty of insects about for the little ones ).
Caught a glimpse of our Fox family, Mum introducing her 2 cubs on daily evening excursions to visit us.
Most evenings guests will leave something out for her.
The Cuckoo that flies all the way from South Africa to breed in Connemara has once again returned and has been very vocal with wonderful morning and evening song . ( CUCKOOING !! )
Has been fun to watch the little birds give chase to this much larger bird, you know it takes over the nest of much smaller fliers, ie. the Reed Warbler, but that’s nature, it abounds at Cuach Cottage,
Enjoy nature's spectacle .Every season brings its own magic.

Severine

Created: Friday, 27 April 2018 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Nous avons passé une belle semaine au cuach cottage tout est absolument splendide un emplacement à couper le souffle et un propriétaire très à l’écoute et agréable ! Je vous le conseille vivement!"

 

Michele's Review

Created: Saturday, 06 January 2018 12:13

Cruach Cottage is a gem. It’s a home from home. The turf fire was lighting when we arrived and we instantly felt welcome, relaxed, warm and cozy. The view is magnificent. We loved being there so much that we stayed an extra night. Liam and Marian could not have been more helpful, with local tips and advise. We will be back.

Alison & Mark

Created: Friday, 22 September 2017 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We had a wonderful week in this lovely cottage, Bog Road, Clifden, Connemara, Co.Galway, Ireland.
This is a very lovely cottage about 4km from Clifden. This was ideal for us as it was the Clifden arts festival which we were able to dip in and out of whilst feeling that we could get back to seclusion afterwards. The cottage is very comfortable in all respects. The kitchen/sunroom was where we spent most of our time as the views from it are stunning. The light is lovely and we feel very restored by this week. We had some lovely coastal walks and some surfing. Liam was very helpful when we were in touch (which wasn't much as everything was fine!)"

Hi Alison and Mark this is Liam responding. We are delighted you are really relaxed after your vacation at Cuach Cottage. Art's week is a very interesting experience in Clifden with artists from all over the world exhibiting their works. See you managed to get in some surfing, great, first visitor to mention in 7 years ! Perhaps you will revisit sometime in the not to distant. Have a safe journey home, Kind regards.

Guy R - Texas, USA

Created: Friday, 15 September 2017 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara 

"We've just arrived home from our relaxing stay at Cuach Cottage and miss it already. The cottage was so clean and welcoming which was much appreciated. Beds were comfy, plenty of towels, kitchen was well appointed and there was plenty of peat for our nightly fires after being out in the cool, blustery weather all day. Our favorite part of the home by far was the eat in kitchen due to the gorgeous every changing views seen from the wall of picture windows. The location was perfect for the many day trips we made during our 5 day stay. We drove the Atlantic Way all the to Achill Island and Keem Beach for the breath taking scenery, hiked in Connemara Park, visited Kylemore Abbey and the beautiful gardens, then went south to Cong and surrounding areas. So much to see and great hikes close by as well. We loved this part of Ireland! Thank you Liam and Miriam for your accessibility and for providing such a great home base for us during our stay. Thanks too for your patience with us Texans when trying to figure out the heating system! We made life long memories and shall be back! Guy & Mickey Rowland Round Rock, TX"

Great review, thank you very much Guy and Mickey. We just LOVE to hear back from our visitors as it gives us such an insight as to what we can do to better the experience for visitors to Ireland and Connemara . Every year we try to improve our offering and maintain standards at the highest level. You have arrived safely home to The Windy City ! Used to follow Lee Trevino some years back and he was the greatest golfer, a master playing golf in windy / stormy conditions, and also the funniest person ever. You now have a Home Away From Home tucked away in the very heart of Connemara. Both of you keep well and Marian and myself look forward to your return some day in the not too distant future, Very best, Liam & Marian "Cuach Cottage"

Sabine

Created: Saturday, 05 August 2017 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"The cottage was great. Définitively, the best place where we stayed in Ireland. The cottage is near Clifden,easy to find with Liam 's explanations."

 

Carole

Created: Wednesday, 05 July 2017 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Super cottage , charmant et confortable; une vue magnifique sur la landscape; nous le recommandons vivement pour découvrir en famille le Connemara. Proche de Clifden ( boutiques, pubs et restaurants) bref un régal !!"

 

Review received on Airbnb May 2017

Created: Sunday, 21 May 2017 07:48

“We visited Ireland in May and had the privilege of spending 5 nights in this delightful cottage. Liam wrote to me days before our arrival to give us early heads-up for our visit/stay. We felt such warm welcome as Liam showed interest and care for the welfare of his guests. The cottage appears secluded when we were heading towards its location but once we got settled in, we realised it was less than 10 mins from the town of Clifden, with its own unique blend of shops and eateries. We spent hours in the kitchen soaking in the beautiful scenery, listening to the rustling of the trees as the wind blew. And oh, yes the endearing sight of sheep by the river as seen from the kitchen window! Liam and Marian took great pains to create a very clean, tidy and comfortable place for their guests. Even little precious personal keepsakes belonging to them discreetly placed around the cottage, assured us that they fully welcome their guests into their own home. We just wanted to keep the place clean and treat it with regard and respect. Close proximity to a secluded lake nearby (we shan't spring this mystery here) made such great surprising, pleasant, memorable discoveries, and great photo-opps. A wonderful stay, deserving full 5-stars....!!!”

Gordon t

Created: Wednesday, 17 May 2017 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"This was a quiet clean cottage with a comfortable bed and a special kitchen. The kitchen has great lighting and wonderful views. The backyard is out of a Monet painting with a stream and multiple song birds. The location is close enough to the village of Clifton to take advantage of all the restaurants and music. We could not have been more pleased with this rental."

 

January 2017 Review by Louis.

Created: Sunday, 08 January 2017 10:56

This place is just perfect! It is hard to find such comfort and taste in such a rural location in Ireland. None of the original charm has been lost in the renovation. The cottage is really warm and damp free with the stove and very efficient central heating. Beds are so comfortable with lovely bed linen and everything is very tastefully thought out. The location is second to none, surrounded by peace and tranquillity and your own river to explore. The kitchen is really well equipped including a lovely espresso machine and all mod cons. Great for a cook. We would love to go back.

First review of 2017 posted on AirBnb. Thank you Louis see you in June, Liam.

 

Colin & Lynda

Created: Thursday, 06 October 2016 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara
   
"We've been home 4 days now and  already missing your little piece of 'heaven' in Connemara. Just forwarding the note we left in the visitor's book in the cottage....

'Thank you so much, Liam and Marian, for an unforgettable week in your lovely cottage. This is a very special place, a haven of peace and tranquility. Just what we both needed. We don't want to leave!!
We've spent most of our time in the sunroom, taking in the views and splendour of the sights and sounds of Connemara. The birdsong, the river, the sheep, the changing colours of the bogland and spectacular mountains and of course, our friend 'Freddy'.


Amazing to see a beautiful fox, up close and personal. He became a bit cheeky when he peeked through the window one afternoon (will send you a photo to prove it). He continues to steal nuts from the bird box - poor birds!
We will never forget our stay here and I know we will hold this little corner of Connemara in our hearts for a long time.

On a personal note, I was particularly blessed and encouraged by your little book, Liam - 'Making All Things New'. 
I found that 'solitude' here. Thank you."

Sharon M

Created: Sunday, 04 September 2016 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara   

"Cuach Cottage Do you hear the cuckoo when you drive up the country lanes To the whitewashed Cuach cottage with red round the window frames? There's orange crocosmia on the roadside with red fuchsias and yellow gorse A warm peat fire to welcome you and a room with a view of course A little stream runs close by over the stile into the field An oak tree overhangs it and perhaps trout that could be reeled Or you could just sit and watch the sunset and the view of 12 majestic Bens When the mist lifts in the morning and the foxes return to their dens The whitewashed walls have ears that hear the whispering of the breeze And your footsteps on the plain wooden floor and decor made to please Crisp white linen on a feather bed when you can relax into the deepest sleep In the savage beauty of the Connemara landscape- lovely memories to keep Cuach cottage a retreat from the usual pace of life where we could find peace and rest I think I chose well for the birdsong- Liam and Mariam it’s the best!"

Sandrine C.

Created: Saturday, 13 August 2016 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Nous avons apprécié ce gîte très confortable, à la décoration soignée, très cosy. La vue sur la nature et les montagnes est saisissante. Tout est mis à disposition pour s'y sentir comme chez soi. Excellentes idées que de proposer une canne à pêche pour pêcher au fond du jardin, et des jumelles. C'est un cottage que l'on n'a pas envie de quitter tellement on s'y sent bien.

Ce gîte est bien situé entre terre, lacs et mer."

Isabel M. - Köln

Created: Saturday, 06 August 2016 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara
   
"We had a very good time in a very nice cottage surrounded by an enjoyable landscape.
The core cottage is very traditional being refurbished in a solid and tasteful manner The cream of the cottage is its extension which is a big room comprising the combination of kitchen and dining room. Due to surrounding windows as well as two more windows in the roof it is a very bright room and even if you cannot stay outside because of rain or low temperatures you got the feeling to be outside - whatever the weather.
The home is well equipped and the owners are very nice and supportive.
A very good place to be on vacation!"   

James Monahan - Düsseldorf Germany

Created: Sunday, 31 July 2016 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We spent 4 nights at Cuach Cottage in July 2016 and can highly it reccomend anyone who looking for tranquility and relaxation in traditional style with all mid cons TV Wifi etc .for a very comfortable time.

It is a great base to visit Clifden and all the great sights in Connemara. Liam and Marion were very friendly and booking was very straight forward.Our stay at Cuach Cottage was one if the real highlights during our trip to the West of Ireland"

Laurent P

Created: Thursday, 30 June 2016 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Excellent séjour. Le gîte est agréable avec ses grandes baies vitrées dès qu'il y a un rayon de soleil ça chauffe et la vue est magnifique. Gîte propre, seul bémol, les WC sont dans la salle de bain. Visite de moutons de de renards sur la terrasse. Belle région à visiter."

Catherine B.

Created: Tuesday, 28 June 2016 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"My husband and I had a delightful 5-day vacation at Cuach Cottage in Connemara and loved every minute of it. The cottage was a beautifully renovated and decorated Irish cottage, full of old country charm, but with all the amenities one would want (TV, fireplace, internet, washing machine etc). The cottage was impeccably clean when we arrived and we were not disappointed with our choice at all! The large open kitchen with surrounding windows that opened up onto the Connemara bogs and mountains in the distance offered spectacular views (as did the sheep that were dotting the landscape everywhere). Our bed was firm and comfortable (no saggy mattresses here thank goodness!) with crisp linens and offered us great sleeps with the country air! And once we figured out how to turn off the lights (we had a good laugh at ourselves trying to find out how to turn off the lights the first night as switches down on the baseboards are unfamiliar to North Americans), our cottage stay was perfect in every respect! Cuach Cottage is definitely on our list for any return visit to the west coast of Ireland! "

Alice K.

Created: Tuesday, 24 May 2016 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We returned to Cuach Cottage this May for another fabulous week. Cuach Cottage is really special and when you unlatch the lovely green gate and see the whitewashed cottage with its red door and the Twelve Bens behind, you just know that it's going to be another great holiday. Liam was wonderfully competent and flexible about our arrangements - we needed to change our booking and arrive a day earlier but that was no problem and everything went smack-smooth as usual. This year there was a sunny new kitchen/living room extension which gives a fantastic vista out to the mountains. It enhances the house and although it creates a lot of space, Cuach Cottage still looks cute from all angles. Cuach Cottage has the most wonderful location and the new extension makes even more of the views.. There's plenty to do in this area so our second week was still too short. We enjoyed the walk along Clifden Harbour, amd the loop up to the castle and back. We cycled (with Mannion Bikes) out to the end of the Sky Road on an incredibly clear day. The Roundstone cycle was delightful too (lunch at O'Dowds) and we returned to Ballynahinch by bike and spent hours walking the grounds interspersed by delicious food in the Ballynahinch Pub and later scones with jam and cream; Ballynahinch gives non-residents a warm welcome! The Marconi + Alcock & Brown site between Ballyconneely and Clifden is a fantastic asset to the area giving access to this beautiful upland bog and providing fantastic information as well. We heard the cuckoo (cuach) nearly every day and saw him/her too and a fox passed by one evening while we were having dinner in the new kitchen extension. Another great week!"

 

Sonia G.

Created: Sunday, 24 April 2016 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"The listing description was very accurate regarding the layout of the cottage and its surroundings. The property was very clean - well maintened and greatly equipped. The town of Cliffden is worth seeing and spending some time in. The views from the sky road are stunning. I would recommend the cottage - it is also suitable for small children. "

Jacqueline

Created: Tuesday, 19 April 2016 23:12

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"The description of the cottage was very accurate, if anything it plays down how beautiful the place is. It is a gem hidden away from the world yet only 10 minutes away from the town. A great base to explore the Connemara landscape.

The cottage is very clean, and benefits from the new extension which brings light and a lots of views of mountains and the babbling brook at the end of the garden. I can imagine it would be a beautiful place to spend a summer evening outside.

The owners were lovely and friendly, made the whole process easy and simple.

Id definitely recommend it to anyone." 

Eleonore J

Created: Monday, 04 April 2016 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Nur 3 km von Clifden mit all seinen Pubs, Restaurants (Mitchells!) und Einkaufsmöglichkeiten, 6km nach Ballyconneely mit Keoghs Pub und Restaurant sowie Laden, Roundstone auch nicht weit (10km?). Idyllische Lage mit eigenem Bach auf dem Grundstück, die Angelruten gehören neben allen anderen denkbaren Dingen (Grill, Waschmaschine, Küche mit sehr guter Ausstattung, Espressomaschine mit Siebträger....) zur Ausstattung dazu. Sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet, mit einer wunderbaren Wohnküche in einem neuen Anbau mit Panoramablick auf die Twelf Bens - schneebedeckte Berge, Hagelstürme, Regenbogen, atemberaubende Wolken- und Sonnenspiele - und man müßte nicht einmal vom Küchentisch aufstehen! Empfiehlt sich natürlich trotzdem ;-) Sehr gute Betten/Decken/Kopfkissen, sehr sauber, unkomplizierter Kontakt mit Vermieter und Verwalterin vor Ort (auf englisch). Mir fällt kein einziger negativer Punkt ein."

 

Jean-Christophe & Agnès (France)

Created: Friday, 21 August 2015 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"The cottage is very well equipped ; very nice wood stove on rainy days and the river that runs behind is fabulous. We had a great time quiet. The welcome from Liam and Mariam 's perfect! We highly recommend this accommodation."

Lulu

Created: Thursday, 02 July 2015 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Cuach Cottage was everything that we had hoped for and more! We had done a lot of research and were delighted with our choice. The position of Cuach Cottage was perfect for us - ideal for exploring Connemara by bike or on foot. We did not need to use the car once. There is a huge garden with an oak and willow trees, wild plants and flowers, irises, and a little river. The place is full of birds and the views are hard to beat. As the last guest wrote: Connemara is in the back-garden. Inside the house is comfy, cosy, tasteful, fresh and clean. Although there are great restaurants in the area, we just loved going back 'home' to Cuach in the evening to enjoy a home-cooked meal and some well-deserved vino. We did have outstanding food in Ardagh and Ballynahinch during walks/cycles. We hired bikes from Mannions in Clifden and they delivered and collected the bikes - fantastic service and great bikes. We have lots we still want to do and see in Connemara and we will hope to do that again from Cuach Cottage! As cottages go, Cuach is as 'Connemara' as you can get. So for ever more whenever I think of Connemara, I will think of Cuach. It's also really nice to stay in a house that is a home rather than purpose-built rental accomodation. Liam and Marian love their cottage and that enhanced our experience there." 

Ciara

Created: Tuesday, 30 June 2015 23:12

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"A truly beautiful cottage so tranquil and restful. A very special place I couldn't recommend it enough. Thank you Liam and Marian."

Puck

Created: Thursday, 25 June 2015 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Connemara is beautiful, and it was in our back garden! No neighbours as far as you can see. The house itself was perfect as well. Beautifully decorated, modern style. We liked the fireplace a lot. The service was perfect. For shopping and restaurants, Clifden is not far away (10 min. drive). And with nature on our doorstep, what else did we want? We enjoyed every minute of the cottage. We'd love to go back anytime!"

Tim S.

Created: Monday, 22 June 2015 12:26

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Cuach Cottage. It was exactly as described and provided a cosy and warm retreat with spectacular views of the mountains from the gardens. It was well located and gave easy access to the Wild Atlantic Way and some lovely inland drives. Clifden is a delightful town and was only a few minutes drive. It met all our restaurant and shopping requirements. We particularly enjoyed feeding the birds that visited the garden, but were dismayed to find that the peanut feeder disappeared one night! A thorough search failed to locate it anywhere in the extensive gardens. Recommended for anyone seeking a traditional cottage that has been sympathetically renovated." Tim S

Jasmin, Ennepetal, Germany

Created: Monday, 01 September 2014 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Bei herrlichem Wetter haben wir in dem wunderschön eingerichteten und liebevoll gestalteten Cottage eine unvergessliche Zeit verbracht. Für unsere Hochzeitsreise hätte es keinen besseren Ort geben können. Wir kommen bestimmt zurück."

 

Heather C, Milan, Italy

Created: Friday, 29 August 2014 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We just returned from 5 nights at the cottage. What a beautiful cozy place Liam and Marian have created! We loved the location. It was close to Clifden which is an adorable village with shopping and some great restaurants, yet out in the beautiful wild Connemara countryside with views to die for. Liam and Marian were wonderful with the booking process and answering questions, giving great advice ahead of time. The cottage was perfect for our family of 4. I loved all of the decor & little details, it made it such a warm and welcoming place to return to every evening after our adventures exploring the area. With 3 bedrooms, the kids each had their own space, which was great! We enjoyed the hills surrounding the cottage, and the stream behind the house. The guys tried their hand at fishing- didn't catch anything- but enjoyed it none the less. We didn't cook much but loved having a small kitchen for breakfasts at the cottage before we left for the day, or snacks in the evening. The tea kettle was greatly used and appreciated! There is so much to see and do in the surrounding hills and towns. We didn't even scratch the surface during our time there, and hope to return someday to see more! A big thanks to Liam and Marian for sharing their beautiful home- )and also to their helpers in Clifden who checked us in)"

 

Olivia

Created: Saturday, 09 August 2014 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We had the most incredible time at this little cottage. Liam was helpful and friendly, and very responsive to our needs. The cottage itself was just a dream. Close enough to Clifden, Galway, The Bens, and even the Aran Islands that we were never at a loss for things to do, it was also perfect for just laying around and enjoying a picnic in the backyard, watching the sheep by the brook and taking in the incredible view. To top it all off, it was also spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. You won't be disappointed with this rental."

Wendy, Missoula, Montana

Created: Tuesday, 24 June 2014 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Cuach Cottage was all we had hoped it would be. The cottage is charming and comfortable, close enough to Clifden to be very accessible yet also providing a sense of privacy and "home". And Clifden makes such a good base for exploring all around Connemara. We wish we had booked for longer and definitely hope to go back. We would have been very happy there whatever the weather - but 4 absolutely perfect summer days sure didn't hurt. Having just returned to Montana, friends are asking us where we got our tans, they thought we'd been to Ireland!"

 

DGtravellers, Illinois

Created: Thursday, 10 October 2013 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Wow! From initial contact with the owners to renting to checking in with the house minder, we had a terrific experience. But wait, that's nothing compared to actually living in Cuach Cottage. This lovely cottage is everything we expected and more. The comfortable and extremely clean home was well-stocked and beautifully decorated with everything we needed. A stunning setting just outside the town included a trout stream, a great patio with a view of Twelve Bens, our own cows and sheep just outside the fence. We hope to return to Cuach Cottage soon!"

 

A FlipKey, Geneva Switzerland

Created: Monday, 22 July 2013 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"The Cuach Cootage is a wonderful house, decorated with great taste. The equipment is perfect, nothing has been overlooked to make our stay comfortable and perfect. And a peat fire, what happiness! And what about the surroundings and the landscape: so quiet, unspoilt nature of sight, visit the sheep, the smell of peat, the sound of the river, beautiful places to visit nearby : Roundstone, Omey Island, Inishbofin Clifden the Joyful, Kylemore ... We spent a perfect week in a Daily Sun !!"

 

A FlipKey, Melbourne

Created: Friday, 07 June 2013 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We stayed at Cuach Cottage for 5 nights in May. Despite less than 12 hours' notice of our booking, the cottage was all set up and ready when we arrived. Liam and Marian were great to deal with on the phone and followed up to check everything was fine. The instructions to reach the cottage were clear, but Dominic (who looks after the cottage on a day to day basis) arranged to meet us in Clifden anyway and guided us there. The cottage is beautiful and had everything we could need for a comfortable stay. The turf fire is such a bonus! The location is just right, close to Clifden, beaches, and walks but feels a world away and very private. Outside the back door is a little stream and there were sheep with lambs in the nearby paddock. Just perfect!"

 

Keith & Dee, Ireland

Created: Thursday, 18 April 2013 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Had 4 days in this beautiful cottage in the heart of Connemara - Great weather - sunny all days - walks on the beach and mountains - great golf and fantastic food in Clifden plus a few beers as the sun was setting. 2 adults and 2 teenage kids - just what the doctor ordered for a stress free break at Easter. Many options for accommodation in the West but this comes highly recommended - authentic cottage, super clean, traditional, rustic, warm and comfortable. €5 euro in a taxi from Clfden. Cottage is very private and set on river/stream with closest living critters being birds, otters and sheep - no noise - bliss. Liam and Marian great to deal with - good tips and really helpful - Thanks for a memorable stay - we'll be back. Keith and Dee."

 

Bill K, IL USA

Created: Wednesday, 17 October 2012 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We had a lovely stay at Cuach Cottage. It's a warm and comfortable place in a beautiful location, convenient to Clifden and Connemara. The Youngs did a wonderful job in renovating the cottage and adding modern conveniences while maintaining its 19th-century charm. It truly felt like home, and we can't wait to come back."

 

Robert B

Created: Friday, 14 September 2012 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We had a wonderful stay. The cottage is warm and charming and the location is pure Connemara. We loved it and Liam and Maria made the whole experience easy and pleasant. We fished most days and had enough luck to make it even more special. We had 10-12 hits, hooked 3 including 1 good sized brown trout, and landed one brown trout which we released. We also got great pictures of an otter that visited us on occasion. But the best part of the fishing was the setting – to be able to stand out in the that beautiful environment with the Twelve Bens as a backdrop was just amazing. We hope to get back soon when we need our next Connemara "fix"!

A FlipKey, Dublin

Created: Tuesday, 27 December 2011 12:29

4 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"The cottage was so cute, and there were tiny little decorative features in every room, from a vintage clock on the mantlepiece, the wellie door knocker, the trinkets on every shelf, to the cool retro radio. My partner and I wanted somewhere quiet to get away from a mega busy few months and Cuach Cottage is just what we needed. We stayed on the October bank holiday weekend; it rained solidly for the three days, but we just read and snuggled up by the wood/turf stove together. The housekeeper Eileen was waiting for us when we got there at almost 11 pm on a Friday night and had the fire lit for us. We cooked for ourselves for the weekend, and there was every tool we needed in the compact kitchen. The location is so so quiet and I recommend it to anyone who wants to shut off the outside world for a few days."

 

Hugo S

Created: Sunday, 13 November 2011 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Just the right distance from lovely towns like Clifden and Roundstone and the peninsulas, without the long driving involved if you would stay on one of the peninsulas. Lovely original but well restored cottage, excellent facilities, beds and care by the owners and housekeeper. Tasteful interior and marvellous views and garden. "

 

Antje K

Created: Thursday, 29 September 2011 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"This tastefully renovated and inviting cottage looks exactly as depicted in the photographs - except that it is significantly darker. Altogether we found it impeccable, even if - with utilities unnecessarily charged extra - a little on the expensive side. It is located beautifully and very close to Clifden. We especially loved the beaches around Roundstone and the wonderful Seafood Pub there, as well as the restaurant overlooking the bay at Ardagh Hotel."

Moni K.

Created: Tuesday, 27 September 2011 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"The cottage is perfectly situated close to Clifden (10 min by car) but lost enough that you are never bothered by a car going by in the middle of the night. It is cosy, peaceful and inviting and surrounded by bogland. The landscape is breathtaking and the play between the light and clouds is spectacular. The house is a 'home away from home' with all, if not more, than what you would expect to find if it was your own holiday home. Liam and Marian were wonderful with providing advice on what to do around the area and were very reactive whenever we had a question.Wonderful place to come to with children.Don't forget to bring a fishing rod, a good rain jacket and some gumboots (wellies)."

Le Mouel

Created: Monday, 08 August 2011 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"This traditional renewed cottage is both cosy and lovely. We just felt as if we were invited over to a friends'.It's also very convenient when you want to visit Connemara. Clifden is very near and all the wonderful beaches and places to visit too.L and M Young provided us with all the information we needed and the housekeeper was very kind to us."

Jenny Morrice

Created: Tuesday, 21 June 2011 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We stayed at Cuach Cottage for 5 nights. It is a fabulous cottage. Amazing views from the garden, beautiful interior and lovely beds. You definetely notice that the owners love this cottage. With an authentic burner and good kitchen you get a real feel of living in Connemara. There is a lot to do in the area as well and Clifden is only 5 minutes drive away and has great Irish pubs. Highly recommended! "

Virginie

Created: Friday, 10 June 2011 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We spent a week in Cuach Cottage with our baby of one year old. It was really nice ! We all had a wonderful stay.The connemara was a really nice place with a lot of things to do : we did something different every day !I sincerely recommend this place, perfectly located in the area !

Thank you Eileen, Liam & Mariam .Arthur, Virginie and Pierre Alexandre"

D Sheils, Co. Wicklow

Created: Saturday, 18 September 2010 12:29

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"From the moment we arrived at "Cuach" Cottage we truly relaxed from the stress of city life. The cottage was amazing it is furnished in a very French/Irish rustic manner with really quaint little touches throughout. It felt like our own home. The care and attention to detail left us feeling like we had furnished it our selves. With the rambling river running past the cottage and the backdrop of the "Twelve Pins" behind the cottage it is truly a unique and special location. The cottage has so many aspects to it and we had a wonderful and relaxing stay. We had planned to eat out each evening in nearby Cliften but found we preferred to light our turf burning stove and stay in the comfort of our cosy cottage. Cuach Cottage is a unique and amazing hideaway definately worth the visit."

 

Did you know?

We are less than one hours drive away from the cultural gem of Galway City. Out stunning cottage is nearby Clifden, offering an array the finest eating establishments in the West of Ireland. Excellent shopping is also close by.

Testimonials

Mid way through Summer in Cuach Cottage
The end of June is approaching and once again we are observing new life in our surrounds.
Our resident Mallard Ducks have this year reared 7 little ducklings (...

Marian's thoughts

Contact Us

To reserve your accommodation, please contact us by phone or e-mail. Alternatively click on the bookings page.

email liamyoung1949@gmail.com

web www.cuachcottagedirect.com

© 2021 Cuach Cottage
Back to Top