Sabine

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"The cottage was great. Définitively, the best place where we stayed in Ireland. The cottage is near Clifden,easy to find with Liam 's explanations."

 

Carole

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Super cottage , charmant et confortable; une vue magnifique sur la landscape; nous le recommandons vivement pour découvrir en famille le Connemara. Proche de Clifden ( boutiques, pubs et restaurants) bref un régal !!"

 

Review received on Airbnb May 2017

“We visited Ireland in May and had the privilege of spending 5 nights in this delightful cottage. Liam wrote to me days before our arrival to give us early heads-up for our visit/stay. We felt such warm welcome as Liam showed interest and care for the welfare of his guests. The cottage appears secluded when we were heading towards its location but once we got settled in, we realised it was less than 10 mins from the town of Clifden, with its own unique blend of shops and eateries. We spent hours in the kitchen soaking in the beautiful scenery, listening to the rustling of the trees as the wind blew. And oh, yes the endearing sight of sheep by the river as seen from the kitchen window! Liam and Marian took great pains to create a very clean, tidy and comfortable place for their guests. Even little precious personal keepsakes belonging to them discreetly placed around the cottage, assured us that they fully welcome their guests into their own home. We just wanted to keep the place clean and treat it with regard and respect. Close proximity to a secluded lake nearby (we shan't spring this mystery here) made such great surprising, pleasant, memorable discoveries, and great photo-opps. A wonderful stay, deserving full 5-stars....!!!”

 

Gordon t

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"This was a quiet clean cottage with a comfortable bed and a special kitchen. The kitchen has great lighting and wonderful views. The backyard is out of a Monet painting with a stream and multiple song birds. The location is close enough to the village of Clifton to take advantage of all the restaurants and music. We could not have been more pleased with this rental."

 

January 2017 Review by Louis.

This place is just perfect! It is hard to find such comfort and taste in such a rural location in Ireland. None of the original charm has been lost in the renovation. The cottage is really warm and damp free with the stove and very efficient central heating. Beds are so comfortable with lovely bed linen and everything is very tastefully thought out. The location is second to none, surrounded by peace and tranquillity and your own river to explore. The kitchen is really well equipped including a lovely espresso machine and all mod cons. Great for a cook. We would love to go back.

First review of 2017 posted on AirBnb. Thank you Louis see you in June, Liam.

 

Colin & Lynda

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara
   
"We've been home 4 days now and  already missing your little piece of 'heaven' in Connemara. Just forwarding the note we left in the visitor's book in the cottage....

'Thank you so much, Liam and Marian, for an unforgettable week in your lovely cottage. This is a very special place, a haven of peace and tranquility. Just what we both needed. We don't want to leave!!
We've spent most of our time in the sunroom, taking in the views and splendour of the sights and sounds of Connemara. The birdsong, the river, the sheep, the changing colours of the bogland and spectacular mountains and of course, our friend 'Freddy'.


Amazing to see a beautiful fox, up close and personal. He became a bit cheeky when he peeked through the window one afternoon (will send you a photo to prove it). He continues to steal nuts from the bird box - poor birds!
We will never forget our stay here and I know we will hold this little corner of Connemara in our hearts for a long time.

On a personal note, I was particularly blessed and encouraged by your little book, Liam - 'Making All Things New'. 
I found that 'solitude' here. Thank you."

 

Sandrine C.

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Nous avons apprécié ce gîte très confortable, à la décoration soignée, très cosy. La vue sur la nature et les montagnes est saisissante. Tout est mis à disposition pour s'y sentir comme chez soi. Excellentes idées que de proposer une canne à pêche pour pêcher au fond du jardin, et des jumelles. C'est un cottage que l'on n'a pas envie de quitter tellement on s'y sent bien.

Ce gîte est bien situé entre terre, lacs et mer."

 

James Monahan - Düsseldorf Germany

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We spent 4 nights at Cuach Cottage in July 2016 and can highly it reccomend anyone who looking for tranquility and relaxation in traditional style with all mid cons TV Wifi etc .for a very comfortable time.

It is a great base to visit Clifden and all the great sights in Connemara. Liam and Marion were very friendly and booking was very straight forward.Our stay at Cuach Cottage was one if the real highlights during our trip to the West of Ireland"

Isabel M. - Köln

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara
   
"We had a very good time in a very nice cottage surrounded by an enjoyable landscape.
The core cottage is very traditional being refurbished in a solid and tasteful manner The cream of the cottage is its extension which is a big room comprising the combination of kitchen and dining room. Due to surrounding windows as well as two more windows in the roof it is a very bright room and even if you cannot stay outside because of rain or low temperatures you got the feeling to be outside - whatever the weather.
The home is well equipped and the owners are very nice and supportive.
A very good place to be on vacation!"   

Sharon M

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara   

"Cuach Cottage Do you hear the cuckoo when you drive up the country lanes To the whitewashed Cuach cottage with red round the window frames? There's orange crocosmia on the roadside with red fuchsias and yellow gorse A warm peat fire to welcome you and a room with a view of course A little stream runs close by over the stile into the field An oak tree overhangs it and perhaps trout that could be reeled Or you could just sit and watch the sunset and the view of 12 majestic Bens When the mist lifts in the morning and the foxes return to their dens The whitewashed walls have ears that hear the whispering of the breeze And your footsteps on the plain wooden floor and decor made to please Crisp white linen on a feather bed when you can relax into the deepest sleep In the savage beauty of the Connemara landscape- lovely memories to keep Cuach cottage a retreat from the usual pace of life where we could find peace and rest I think I chose well for the birdsong- Liam and Mariam it’s the best!"

Laurent P

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Excellent séjour. Le gîte est agréable avec ses grandes baies vitrées dès qu'il y a un rayon de soleil ça chauffe et la vue est magnifique. Gîte propre, seul bémol, les WC sont dans la salle de bain. Visite de moutons de de renards sur la terrasse. Belle région à visiter."

 

Catherine B.

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"My husband and I had a delightful 5-day vacation at Cuach Cottage in Connemara and loved every minute of it. The cottage was a beautifully renovated and decorated Irish cottage, full of old country charm, but with all the amenities one would want (TV, fireplace, internet, washing machine etc). The cottage was impeccably clean when we arrived and we were not disappointed with our choice at all! The large open kitchen with surrounding windows that opened up onto the Connemara bogs and mountains in the distance offered spectacular views (as did the sheep that were dotting the landscape everywhere). Our bed was firm and comfortable (no saggy mattresses here thank goodness!) with crisp linens and offered us great sleeps with the country air! And once we figured out how to turn off the lights (we had a good laugh at ourselves trying to find out how to turn off the lights the first night as switches down on the baseboards are unfamiliar to North Americans), our cottage stay was perfect in every respect! Cuach Cottage is definitely on our list for any return visit to the west coast of Ireland! "

 

Alice K.

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We returned to Cuach Cottage this May for another fabulous week. Cuach Cottage is really special and when you unlatch the lovely green gate and see the whitewashed cottage with its red door and the Twelve Bens behind, you just know that it's going to be another great holiday. Liam was wonderfully competent and flexible about our arrangements - we needed to change our booking and arrive a day earlier but that was no problem and everything went smack-smooth as usual. This year there was a sunny new kitchen/living room extension which gives a fantastic vista out to the mountains. It enhances the house and although it creates a lot of space, Cuach Cottage still looks cute from all angles. Cuach Cottage has the most wonderful location and the new extension makes even more of the views.. There's plenty to do in this area so our second week was still too short. We enjoyed the walk along Clifden Harbour, amd the loop up to the castle and back. We cycled (with Mannion Bikes) out to the end of the Sky Road on an incredibly clear day. The Roundstone cycle was delightful too (lunch at O'Dowds) and we returned to Ballynahinch by bike and spent hours walking the grounds interspersed by delicious food in the Ballynahinch Pub and later scones with jam and cream; Ballynahinch gives non-residents a warm welcome! The Marconi + Alcock & Brown site between Ballyconneely and Clifden is a fantastic asset to the area giving access to this beautiful upland bog and providing fantastic information as well. We heard the cuckoo (cuach) nearly every day and saw him/her too and a fox passed by one evening while we were having dinner in the new kitchen extension. Another great week!"

 

Sonia G.

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"The listing description was very accurate regarding the layout of the cottage and its surroundings. The property was very clean - well maintened and greatly equipped. The town of Cliffden is worth seeing and spending some time in. The views from the sky road are stunning. I would recommend the cottage - it is also suitable for small children. "

 

Jacqueline

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"The description of the cottage was very accurate, if anything it plays down how beautiful the place is. It is a gem hidden away from the world yet only 10 minutes away from the town. A great base to explore the Connemara landscape.

The cottage is very clean, and benefits from the new extension which brings light and a lots of views of mountains and the babbling brook at the end of the garden. I can imagine it would be a beautiful place to spend a summer evening outside.

The owners were lovely and friendly, made the whole process easy and simple.

Id definitely recommend it to anyone." 

 

Eleonore J

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Nur 3 km von Clifden mit all seinen Pubs, Restaurants (Mitchells!) und Einkaufsmöglichkeiten, 6km nach Ballyconneely mit Keoghs Pub und Restaurant sowie Laden, Roundstone auch nicht weit (10km?). Idyllische Lage mit eigenem Bach auf dem Grundstück, die Angelruten gehören neben allen anderen denkbaren Dingen (Grill, Waschmaschine, Küche mit sehr guter Ausstattung, Espressomaschine mit Siebträger....) zur Ausstattung dazu. Sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet, mit einer wunderbaren Wohnküche in einem neuen Anbau mit Panoramablick auf die Twelf Bens - schneebedeckte Berge, Hagelstürme, Regenbogen, atemberaubende Wolken- und Sonnenspiele - und man müßte nicht einmal vom Küchentisch aufstehen! Empfiehlt sich natürlich trotzdem ;-) Sehr gute Betten/Decken/Kopfkissen, sehr sauber, unkomplizierter Kontakt mit Vermieter und Verwalterin vor Ort (auf englisch). Mir fällt kein einziger negativer Punkt ein."

 

Jean-Christophe & Agnès (France)

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"The cottage is very well equipped ; very nice wood stove on rainy days and the river that runs behind is fabulous. We had a great time quiet. The welcome from Liam and Mariam 's perfect! We highly recommend this accommodation."

 

Lulu

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Cuach Cottage was everything that we had hoped for and more! We had done a lot of research and were delighted with our choice. The position of Cuach Cottage was perfect for us - ideal for exploring Connemara by bike or on foot. We did not need to use the car once. There is a huge garden with an oak and willow trees, wild plants and flowers, irises, and a little river. The place is full of birds and the views are hard to beat. As the last guest wrote: Connemara is in the back-garden. Inside the house is comfy, cosy, tasteful, fresh and clean. Although there are great restaurants in the area, we just loved going back 'home' to Cuach in the evening to enjoy a home-cooked meal and some well-deserved vino. We did have outstanding food in Ardagh and Ballynahinch during walks/cycles. We hired bikes from Mannions in Clifden and they delivered and collected the bikes - fantastic service and great bikes. We have lots we still want to do and see in Connemara and we will hope to do that again from Cuach Cottage! As cottages go, Cuach is as 'Connemara' as you can get. So for ever more whenever I think of Connemara, I will think of Cuach. It's also really nice to stay in a house that is a home rather than purpose-built rental accomodation. Liam and Marian love their cottage and that enhanced our experience there." 

 

Ciara

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"A truly beautiful cottage so tranquil and restful. A very special place I couldn't recommend it enough. Thank you Liam and Marian."

 

Puck

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Connemara is beautiful, and it was in our back garden! No neighbours as far as you can see. The house itself was perfect as well. Beautifully decorated, modern style. We liked the fireplace a lot. The service was perfect. For shopping and restaurants, Clifden is not far away (10 min. drive). And with nature on our doorstep, what else did we want? We enjoyed every minute of the cottage. We'd love to go back anytime!"

 

Tim S.

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Cuach Cottage. It was exactly as described and provided a cosy and warm retreat with spectacular views of the mountains from the gardens. It was well located and gave easy access to the Wild Atlantic Way and some lovely inland drives. Clifden is a delightful town and was only a few minutes drive. It met all our restaurant and shopping requirements. We particularly enjoyed feeding the birds that visited the garden, but were dismayed to find that the peanut feeder disappeared one night! A thorough search failed to locate it anywhere in the extensive gardens. Recommended for anyone seeking a traditional cottage that has been sympathetically renovated." Tim S

 

Jasmin, Ennepetal, Germany

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Bei herrlichem Wetter haben wir in dem wunderschön eingerichteten und liebevoll gestalteten Cottage eine unvergessliche Zeit verbracht. Für unsere Hochzeitsreise hätte es keinen besseren Ort geben können. Wir kommen bestimmt zurück."

 

Heather C, Milan, Italy

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We just returned from 5 nights at the cottage. What a beautiful cozy place Liam and Marian have created! We loved the location. It was close to Clifden which is an adorable village with shopping and some great restaurants, yet out in the beautiful wild Connemara countryside with views to die for. Liam and Marian were wonderful with the booking process and answering questions, giving great advice ahead of time. The cottage was perfect for our family of 4. I loved all of the decor & little details, it made it such a warm and welcoming place to return to every evening after our adventures exploring the area. With 3 bedrooms, the kids each had their own space, which was great! We enjoyed the hills surrounding the cottage, and the stream behind the house. The guys tried their hand at fishing- didn't catch anything- but enjoyed it none the less. We didn't cook much but loved having a small kitchen for breakfasts at the cottage before we left for the day, or snacks in the evening. The tea kettle was greatly used and appreciated! There is so much to see and do in the surrounding hills and towns. We didn't even scratch the surface during our time there, and hope to return someday to see more! A big thanks to Liam and Marian for sharing their beautiful home- )and also to their helpers in Clifden who checked us in)"

 

Anonymous

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Beautiful cottage in quiet location but not too far from all the amenities of Clifden. Very clean and comfortable with a real feeling of being in someone's home not just a holiday rental property. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. "

Olivia

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"We had the most incredible time at this little cottage. Liam was helpful and friendly, and very responsive to our needs. The cottage itself was just a dream. Close enough to Clifden, Galway, The Bens, and even the Aran Islands that we were never at a loss for things to do, it was also perfect for just laying around and enjoying a picnic in the backyard, watching the sheep by the brook and taking in the incredible view. To top it all off, it was also spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. You won't be disappointed with this rental."

 

Wendy, Missoula, Montana

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Cuach Cottage was all we had hoped it would be. The cottage is charming and comfortable, close enough to Clifden to be very accessible yet also providing a sense of privacy and "home". And Clifden makes such a good base for exploring all around Connemara. We wish we had booked for longer and definitely hope to go back. We would have been very happy there whatever the weather - but 4 absolutely perfect summer days sure didn't hurt. Having just returned to Montana, friends are asking us where we got our tans, they thought we'd been to Ireland!"

 

Testimonials

Kate's Review October 2023

Wednesday, 01 November 2023

We are just back from a very special long weekend at Cuach Cottage. From the moment we booked, Liam could not have been more helpful and communicative.

When we arrived it was clear how loved and cared for the cottage is. The log burner was prepped for our arrival, the furnishings are cosy and not cluttered, the views from the kitchen are so beautiful and our son loved spotting fish in the river and cows in the field. We were traveling with two small children and there was a cot set up already so we could get the baby settled straight away.

The kitchen had all the equipment we needed for an easy stay. We had such fun and restful time as a family enjoying the surroundings and would love to return soon.

Thank you Liam and Marian   


Colette's review May 2023

Sunday, 30 July 2023

5/5

 
April 2023
Where to start: it’s difficult to capture the sense of peace surrounding this beautiful cottage nestled in the Connemara landscape. Perfectly proportioned, with a sensitive extension, this home has everything a guest might need. When your batteries have been recharged, stunning beaches and pretty little villages are merely a 10 minute drive with the bustling market town of Clifden even closer.
No noise pollution, no light pollution, this is nature at its glorious best.
Nothing was too much trouble for the helpful hosts, Liam and Marian, although virtually no contact was necessary as this cottage is so well presented and equipped.
We can’t wait to return !

Lizzy review July 2023

Sunday, 30 July 2023
Lizzie PetersJuly 2023
A true gem of an Airbnb stay. We have used Airbnb for years and this was one of our favourite rentals ever. Lovely homely feel, incredible location just outside Clifden, and beautiful views. Liam and Marian were very communicative hosts and went out their way to make sure that our stay was a good one.
Thank you so much, guys. Marian and myself loved having you stay at Cuach Cottage. Indeed it was a great pleasure and we look forward to your return sometime in the future. Safe onward journey to all, Liam & Marian

Amilia's review July 2023

Sunday, 30 July 2023
Amazing!! One of the best Air bnb homes we have stayed in. Location is next level.
Thank you Amelia for your very thoughtful review of Cuach Cottage. Liam & Marian

Wilfrid's Review July 2023

Sunday, 30 July 2023
Wilfrid BohmJuly 2023
Un cottage en pleine campagne et au calme Une super terrasse au bord de la rivière C’est l’endroit idéal pour découvrir le Commemara Liam est très réactif et très prévenant
Thank you Wilfrid for your lovely review of your visit to Cuach Cottage. We really enjoyed hosting you and hopefully will see you come back in the future, Best wishes, Liam & Marian

Claudia's review June 2023

Sunday, 30 July 2023
Claudia CoadyJune 2023
We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful cottage. The surroundings are stunning, the cottage is very comfortable and homy and well equipped. It is just a short distance to Clifden with is stores and restaurants and a perfect place to explore Connemara. We would love to come back.
Hi Claudia, Liam and Marian here. Thank you so much for your lovely review. You are very welcome to return at any time. It was remarked on by our housekeeper as to just how tidy and clean you left our property together with an unprompted comment as to you guys are the nicest people on the planet. We were lucky to host you. Best wishes.

Simon's review June 2023

Sunday, 30 July 2023

eview details

 
 
 

Simon's review of your place

"Cuach Cottage" Failte Ireland reg/ 2022-2023

5–9 Jun 2023

Simon User Profile

Overall rating

5
 

Public review

A beautiful cottage, very close to Clifden, and yet very private with a beautiful view, an own small river and a tiny lake seen right from the kitchen window. We felt at home right away!

Private note from Simon

Hi Liam and Maryann, thank you very much for letting us stay in your beautiful home, hope to be back soon!c

Review from Manuel: May 2023

Wednesday, 03 May 2023

Date 3rd. May 2023

Hello Marian

We da a great stay!!!!

Everything was perfect. 

Your cottage is ideally located ,surrounded by nature but not far from Clifden. The house is very well equipped and the decoration is wonderful.

The view from the terrace is breathtaking it looks like a movie set.!!!

We would have stayed a few more days if we had the time .I hope to come back one day yo enjoy more of the garden and fishing because finally Paris

is not very far away from Clifden.

Thank you for this pleasant stay.

Yad France 

 

 


Claudia - July 2022

Sunday, 22 January 2023

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

We had a great time in this lovely cottage with stunning views. The perfect base to explore Connemara.

 


Helena - July 2022

Sunday, 22 January 2023

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

Beautiful cottage in a stunning location.

Ideal for switching off for a week-end and exploring Connemara.

 


Pip - June 2022

Sunday, 22 January 2023

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

Great stay in an amazing location. Very comfortable well equipped cottage. Handy for golf course.

 


Tara - August 2022

Sunday, 22 January 2023

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

This is simply a stunning cottage in an equally stunning location.

Great location !!

The cottage itself was spotlessly clean and offered all amenities to make our stay more than comfortable.

Great hosts and great communication from outset.

Clearly a lot of heart has gone into this cottage and it was a real treat to stay here.

Would highly recommend Cuach Cottage.

 


Angela - Spring 2022

Sunday, 22 January 2023

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

Cuach Cottage absolutely stunning!! Set in a quiet spot, with it's own river at the bottom of the garden and incredible views of the mountains - this  place really does get you

straight into a Connemara State of Mind !!

Liam and Marian are a delight as hosts - responsive, kind  and always willing to help in any wat they possibly can. I've stayed  here in this beautiful , fully equipped cottage

twice now, and will definitely be returning again as soon as I can.

 


Fionnuala July 2022 5 star review.

Sunday, 22 January 2023

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

Our family enjoyed two wonderful holidays at Cuach Cottage. This is a charming house in a very private setting with gorgeous views over Twelve Bens to the river running

through the property. The location is perfect, close to both Clifden and Mannin beaches. The cottage is very clean, beautifully decorated, a sort of French farmhouse vibe with bunches of dried lavender, gorgeous curtains, armchairs and quality bedlinen .Liam and Marian are very helpful and personable.

Cuach cottage is a find , you could say this little gem has soul .

 


Super host status.

Sunday, 06 November 2022

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

Hi all, just a quick note to let everyone know we achieved Super Host Status this year 2023 / 2024. We are also fully approved and registered with Failte Ireland.

Liam.

 


Katrin's Review April 2022

Monday, 02 May 2022

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

30-04-2022

This is a perfect getaway spot for discovering Connemara. Close to Clifden, a bustling little town, and with access to all the activities you want to do in this area. The cottage is cozy and comfortable, well equipped and with gorgeous views. And you’re surrounded by wonderfully large rosemary bushes, apple trees, lush green grass, flowers and a river. Sheep come by every day to grass and wander around. We highly recommend the place for a relaxing stay!

Katrin USA.

 


Rachel's Review March 2022

Sunday, 01 May 2022

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

Rachael March 2022. Liam and Marian's cottage is in a fairy tale setting. When you gaze from the studio window, the view is absolutely stunning. Bedding and beds are super comfortable, and the heated blankets on each bed were so lovely and should be the standard in all accommodation.


Stephen & Ann Dublin Review: Sept.2021

Sunday, 01 May 2022

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

Stephen & Ann.
 
7 months ago on Google
Spent a week in this idyllic cottage. Great location just outside the market town of Clifden with lovely view across the wild Connemara countryside to the Twelve Pins.
The cottage is very cosy and well-appointed and we loved the many small interior touches that reflect the country setting.
 

Karine `s New Year Stay 2021/2022

Wednesday, 05 January 2022

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

" Such a cosy tastefully decorated home! We were charmed as soon as we stepped in. Spacious, cosy with wood floors, fireplace, 

great beds and beautiful beddings, well-appointed kitchen. The French antique furniture throughtout the cottage and the wooden

kitchen are just doing their magic on this place. The Studio back room is delightful as you have the most beautiful view every time

you come to cook, eat or relax. The changing winter lights, the river, the sound of the wind, the robins, the silhouette of the two

magnificent trees ( it was winter so they had no leaves, I cannot imagine in Springtime how pretty the view must be.) We also loved

reading by the fireplace in the evening, the sweet smell of locally dug out peat. Fabulous experience to visit Connemara with all the 

recommendations from Liam who was always so kind and enthusiastic in his correspondance. Liam and his spouse Marian have truly

made this cottage the ideal Irish holiday home in the idyllic Connemara settings. I am about to recommend it to all my friends and 

we are already thinking of our next visit ( perhaps in summer to enjoy the nearby pristine white sand beaches we discovered ) so

as to do more of many great recommendations we just couldn't do in one very relaxed stay. A gem ".

Karine & Family New years stay 2021.  30th. Dec.  -  3rd. Jan.

UK./ France.

 


Bridget's Review 31-12-2021

Wednesday, 05 January 2022

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

" Cuach Cottage is tucked away amid the rugged hills and lakes of Connemara, not far from Clifden.

It`s well appointed, perfectly equipped with everything you could ask for and a river runs through

it,! Not the cottage , the property, that is !! It`s a real gem of a find. If you are looking for peace 

and quiet, comfy beds and a warm fireplace from which to venture out and explore beautiful

Connemara, this is the place for you."

Bridget J. Stayed 26th. - 30th. December 2021.

 


Jonathan's review

Monday, 24 August 2020

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

" A real haven of peace and calm with outstanding views and a welcoming home. Could not recommend a stay here any more highly."


Carly's review July 2020

Monday, 24 August 2020

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"STAY HERE ! The cottage is the warmest and welcoming place you will stay with so many lovely little touches. We came out to rest and relax and this is the PLACE to do it. Close enough to Clifden if you need to pop in to town, close to beaches, hiking, swimming and fishing, and perfect if you just want to stay at the property to look out over the 12 Bens. the sheep, and the stream. 

The first two days we had rain, we just read our books in the sunny studio ! Then when the rain cleared...there was a perfect view of the mountains ! And the road - if you love to run, this would be the perfect place to go for a quiet run through Connemara- sheep and all !!

We enjoyed the fire in the evening and the bright studio room during the day !

if you are looking for a good place to eat, head to Guys Pub in Clifden. Diamond Hill in Connemara National Park is a quick drive as well as the beaches in Roundstone. Liam and Marian were connected with us every step of the way and we felt really taken care of. We look forward to returning....soon ! Thanks Liam and  Marian"


Mark's review

Monday, 24 August 2020

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

" A high quality cottage in a truly special setting. You wont be disappointed !"


Jerem'ys review

Saturday, 28 December 2019

5 stars - accomodation holiday home connemara

"Liam just wanted to let you know we had an early start today so house is vacant. We shut the main heat switch off and all else should be good.

Have to thank and commend you both on creating such a welcoming and lovely base for our trip. It couldnt have worked better. Many thanks and look forward to a return !"

 


Marian's thoughts

Wednesday, 20 June 2018

Mid way through Summer in Cuach Cottage
The end of June is approaching and once again we are observing new life in our surrounds.
Our resident Mallard Ducks have this year reared 7 little ducklings ( BIG FAMILY and so CUTE !! )
The Blue tit family that return each year love the nest box outside the main bedroom window.
Always a bit of competition as to who secures the pent house first,
Two brood’s this year, Mum and Dad been very busy, must be down to the exceptionally dry / warm
June we have had. ( plenty of insects about for the little ones ).
Caught a glimpse of our Fox family, Mum introducing her 2 cubs on daily evening excursions to visit us.
Most evenings guests will leave something out for her.
The Cuckoo that flies all the way from South Africa to breed in Connemara has once again returned and has been very vocal with wonderful morning and evening song . ( CUCKOOING !! )
Has been fun to watch the little birds give chase to this much larger bird, you know it takes over the nest of much smaller fliers, ie. the Reed Warbler, but that’s nature, it abounds at Cuach Cottage,
Enjoy nature's spectacle .Every season brings its own magic.

 


Michele's Review

Saturday, 06 January 2018

Cruach Cottage is a gem. It’s a home from home. The turf fire was lighting when we arrived and we instantly felt welcome, relaxed, warm and cozy. The view is magnificent. We loved being there so much that we stayed an extra night. Liam and Marian could not have been more helpful, with local tips and advise. We will be back.


Review received on Airbnb May 2017

Sunday, 21 May 2017

“We visited Ireland in May and had the privilege of spending 5 nights in this delightful cottage. Liam wrote to me days before our arrival to give us early heads-up for our visit/stay. We felt such warm welcome as Liam showed interest and care for the welfare of his guests. The cottage appears secluded when we were heading towards its location but once we got settled in, we realised it was less than 10 mins from the town of Clifden, with its own unique blend of shops and eateries. We spent hours in the kitchen soaking in the beautiful scenery, listening to the rustling of the trees as the wind blew. And oh, yes the endearing sight of sheep by the river as seen from the kitchen window! Liam and Marian took great pains to create a very clean, tidy and comfortable place for their guests. Even little precious personal keepsakes belonging to them discreetly placed around the cottage, assured us that they fully welcome their guests into their own home. We just wanted to keep the place clean and treat it with regard and respect. Close proximity to a secluded lake nearby (we shan't spring this mystery here) made such great surprising, pleasant, memorable discoveries, and great photo-opps. A wonderful stay, deserving full 5-stars....!!!”

 


January 2017 Review by Louis.

Sunday, 08 January 2017

This place is just perfect! It is hard to find such comfort and taste in such a rural location in Ireland. None of the original charm has been lost in the renovation. The cottage is really warm and damp free with the stove and very efficient central heating. Beds are so comfortable with lovely bed linen and everything is very tastefully thought out. The location is second to none, surrounded by peace and tranquillity and your own river to explore. The kitchen is really well equipped including a lovely espresso machine and all mod cons. Great for a cook. We would love to go back.

First review of 2017 posted on AirBnb. Thank you Louis see you in June, Liam.

 

Did you know?

We are less than one hours drive away from the cultural gem of Galway City. Out stunning cottage is nearby Clifden, offering an array the finest eating establishments in the West of Ireland. Excellent shopping is also close by.

Testimonials

This place is just perfect! It is hard to find such comfort and taste in such a rural location in Ireland. None of the original charm has been lost in the renovation. The cottage is really warm and...

January 2017 Review by Louis.

Contact Us

To reserve your accommodation, please contact us by phone or e-mail. Alternatively click on the bookings page.

email liamyoung1949@gmail.com

web www.cuachcottagedirect.com

© 2024 Cuach Cottage
Back to Top